Moving forward…

The main order of business this week seemed to be the gym…and Nandos.

I haven’t found much to do in terms of activities where I am, although I think the season of festivals is coming up here. They have all sorts. Science Festival 🔬 (which I actually think I’d really enjoy), Cricket Festival 🏏 (not my kinda sport), Jazz Festival 🎷 (defs up my street) etc. So I might try and go to at least one of these, which might be tricky as I don’t have a free weekend until the beginning of September it would seem.

Anyway, I digress. My point is that because there isn’t much to do on a day to day basis, I’ve been going to the gym almost everyday. Of course that’s great for my fitness levels, although I’m also eating a lot more too for something to do so it’s probably cancelling itself out. I do love my weights but i’m trying to do a lot more cardio too. I can only stand about 15-20 mins of cardio by myself before I get bored and give up so I’m trying to do more ‘structured’ cardio. I went to spin for the first time in about 6 months last week. I forgot how tough it was. I was sweating from places I didn’t even know you could sweat from, but I did feel good afterwards. I must be a glutton for punishment because I’ve booked another spin class tomorrow 🚴🏾‍♀️. Think I’m going to try one of their circuits classes too. I’ve seen it when I’ve been at the gym and everyone doing it looks like they’re about to collapse, ergo it must be a good workout 😳. I also have netball this week, so it’ll be interesting to see how that goes. I haven’t played for a few years but surely it’s like riding a bike. Right?!?! We’ll see!

Gym life 🏋🏾‍♀️🚴🏾‍♀️

I went for a meal with 4 of my colleagues last week. Nandos was the place of choice and I wasn’t complaining. Can’t go wrong with a Nandos 🍗. I say this, but the last time I went to Nandos, I thought I’d branch out and get one of their steak wraps…won’t be doing that again. It was nice enough but it wasn’t chicken, and chicken is what Nandos is known for so steak just wasn’t very satisfying. It was nice to be out catching up with everyone. There are so many of us and we all work all over the place so you can go weeks without seeing someone so it’s good to see each other out of work.

My second Nandos trip was at the weekend with my parents. I moved out of hospital accommodation this weekend to a nicer house share. My brilliant parents decided to come down and help me. They got up at the crack of dawn on Saturday and drove the few hours to get here on time to help me move. It didn’t take very long at all with their help and I’m so grateful for them. We had a nice little walk into town and looked around the shops, but the first order of business was food and Papa Bear wanted his Nandos. So, Nandos round 2 it was. I can’t pretend like I didn’t enjoy it…of course I did. My only regret was that I didn’t get dessert 🍰. Usually I’m very good with what I eat but I guess last week was treat week 🤷🏾‍♀️.

Chicken thighs with peri chips and super bean salad 😍
Houmous with peri sauce and pitta bread 😍

So my current situation is just me settling into my new place and sussing out my housemates, whilst continuing to enjoy the ‘fit life’ (hopefully that’ll last). I’m also looking forward to all the weddings, meet ups and holidays that are to come in the next couple of months. Truly grateful for everything I have and everything I have to look forward to 🙏🏾.

Be right back. Kisses.

4 thoughts on “Moving forward…

Leave a Reply

