Celebrations 🎉…

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks and as a result, I missed last week’s blog post again but I’ll try and make up for it with this one. Although, time is still limited so it might just be a snippet…

The main reasons I’ve been so busy revolve around work, assignments and packing. I haven’t been to the gym for around a week also which I intend to try and rectify slightly this week before Ramadan starts on Saturday.

The Leadership and Management course I have been doing was organised through work and because I was leaving last Friday I needed to get as many assignments for the course done as soon as possible. That was the main theme for last weekend and that was the reason I missed out last week’s blog…I had quite a  few thousand words to get through already. Time seems to fly pretty quickly when you’ve got lots to do. I managed to get everything done that I needed to though so being inside for those few days was very productive for me.

My last week of work was nothing extraordinary. I went for a meal with some of my colleagues in the Department as a little leaving do. We went to Kashmiri Aroma for a meal on Thursday after work. It’s probably the most time I’ve spent with some of them outside the work environment but it was good fun actually. We chatted and ate (which was the best bit of course) and they got me some lovely presents too- vouchers, flowers, a scarf and some chocolates. It was a very nice surprise/send off.

Orchids, scarf, Lindt chocs


That takes us to this weekend which was an amazing one spent celebrating our bride to be. Four of us took a road trip to London on Friday after work to meet the rest of the bridal party and start the celebrations. When we arrived and after we’d got settled, we were fed and watered (although after all the sweets and crisps during the car journey I was feeling too sick to eat much more). We went on to play a little game of Mr & Mrs, which was very insightful and fun for everyone.

Saturday was fun packed also. We started off with brunch at The Piano Works, which is a piano bar with a live band who act as a jukebox. They have tissues on each table where you write your request and hand it in, then they play it. They seemed to just play the songs they wanted to play from the ones requested but I guess they can’t play every single song otherwise they’d be there 24/7. It was very impressive all the same. We had brunch there and a little dance to all the music as well. I’d definitely do it again.

Brunch- eggs royale

​

​We went back to the house after a few hours and had some afternoon tea courtesy of M&S with sandwiches, crisps and lovely cupcakes. Once all that was polished off, it was time for more games. This time we all bought something that reminded us of the bride to be or a memory that we’d shared together and she had to guess who each present was from. We also made her a memory book with messages and pictures of all her loved ones. We were due to go out for dinner at 8 so we had a bit of time to relax. Some of us decided to nap (me included) and some watched La La Land. After our relaxation it was time to get ready for the evening…

We went out to a little bar first of all because our meal wasn’t booked until much later. Everyone was so hungry when it was time to go and eat even though we’d been eating almost continuously since we got to London. We went to Adesso- a lovely Italian restaurant. The food was so so good. After our bread and olives teaser, I had a bolognese rice ball which I wolfed down before I remembered to take a snapshot. For the main, I had spinach and ricotta ravioli in a marscapone sauce with pistachios. Yes, it tasted even better than it sounds.

Spinach & ricotta ravioli


We were supposed to go to the local club afterwards, but the bride to be didn’t feel it was necessary because we’d had such a good day and we were up early for the drive back home today. I was so so ecstatic about that decision. I was so tired and full from food, the last thing I wanted to do was go out clubbing. So, we headed back to the house for a night cap (tea for most of us) and then it was time for bed.

We set off very early this morning because we all needed to be back home for various things. Luckily the drive there and back was very smooth and uneventful, which is more than can be said for the person we saw throwing up at the side of the motorway on our way back home.

Before I left for London, I’d packed everything up in the flat I was in and just dumped everything at my parents’ house ready for my move for the new job in a couple of weeks. So, that’s what I came back to. Managed to do a bit of sorting today but hopefully I’ll be able to regroup and get centred again now that I have a couple of weeks off. It’s good being busy sometimes especially when it’s events with friend etc. However, having some time to just relax your body and mind is so refreshing sometimes and gets you geared up to be more productive and ready for what lies ahead. That’s what I’m hoping I’ll achieve with this time off as well as getting organised, which also helps me think straight.

Be right back. Kisses.


Leave a comment